New Toy: Minolta CLE

I have been playing with the Minolta CLE for almost a month now. I love how it looks with the “Minolta” and “CLE” taped over, giving a generic compact camera look. The learning curve is a little rocky for me being a slow learner. Coming from a Nikon F3 there’s a lot in common with the CLE. Not mechanical, used mostly as aperture priority and my only gripe is the exposure lock. Most of the learning curve is from being a Slr shooter to a rangefinder. I had difficulty focusing at first and the smaller “viewfinder” due to not using the whole field of the “viewfinder” if that even makes sense.

After the first roll I became more comfortable with a rangefinder and the weight makes me carry it everywhere. Feed it  another roll where I thought I nailed a few decent shoots, so I send it to be developed and was excited for it to finish.

Then shit hits the fan. The negatives return almost paper white I know something went wrong. Checked the scans and most of it is underexposed. I don’t know if it was a developing mistakes as I pushed both the Tri-x to 1600. Cold sweat run down my face fearing the worst, the CLE’s meter was busted. I checked the meter of the CLE against the F3 and my android app but all 3 shows the same meter reading. I was really bummed with the results. Decided to run a Fuji C200 on it to really test it out hoping it was a processing mistake.

Thankfully the negatives was correctly exposed, the meter is not busted.C200-4

The F3 is sleeping on the shelf now that the CLE is my daily companion. It’s perfect for me as it’s light, stealthy and a great 40mm lens. Still learning a lot on how to shoot a rangefinder (zone focus, hyperfocal.. etc.etc.)

C200-7

Well that’s it for now.

Keeping shooting!

Loving this site (and learning a lot from it)

http://www.yanidel.net/

Leave a Reply

